Details - International Climate Initiative (IKI)

Back to search results

As of: January 2018

Cities Matter: Capacity building in sub-Saharan African megacities for transformational climate change mitigation

Objective and activities

This project aims to: a) build technical capacity within nine African cities to develop long-term climate action plans, b) develop an innovative, consistent and comprehensive approach to a transformative city low carbon development, c) identify mechanisms to facilitate better national and local integration of climate mitigation activities. A key focus on this project is to embed a C40 City Advisor in cities to act as a focal point for long-term climate action planning, engage internal and external stakeholders,facilitate knowledge transfer across the region, and ensure sustainability after the project duration. A series of in-city workshops will be held for all cities, complemented by regional workshops, to build capacity and enable peer interaction.Tools and resources – underpinned by existing city practices and international GHG and MRV approaches – will be developed in collaboration with the cities. This includes action planning frameworks and a GHG emission projection tool.

State of implementation/results

  • Regional Coordinator appointed ,based in South Africa (09/2017)
  • First Regional Workshop and City Advisor Training to be held in South Africa in early 2018.

Project data

Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, Tanzania

Implementing organisation:
C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group

Partner institution(s):
Accra Metropolitan Assembly (Department for Budget and Rating) - Ghana Addis Ababa City Administration (Environmental Protection Authority) - Ethiopia City of Cape Town (Energy and Climate Unit) - South Africa City of Johannesburg (Air Quality Climate Change & Energy) - South Africa City of Tshwane (Sustainability Office and the Economic Development Department Mitigation Programmes) - South Africa Dar Es Salam City Council (Public Relations and Protocol Unit) - Tanzania Department of Environmental Affairs (DEA) - South Africa Division of Environment (Office of the Vice-President) - Tanzania Environmental Protection Agency - Ghana eThekwini Municipality Environmental Planning & Climate Protection (Climate Change Unit) - South Africa Federal Ministry of Environment - Nigeria Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MEFCC) – Ethiopia Ministry of Environment and Mineral Resources - Kenya Nairobi City County (Water, Energy, Forestry, Environment and Natural Resources) - Kenya;

BMUB grant:
€ 3,665,375

03/2017 till 02/2020


  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Google+