Certificates presented to participants in the climate protection and resource conservation scholarship programme

Group picture

Federal Minister Barbara Hendricks with scholarship recipients. Photo: Sascha Hilgers / BMUB

On 13 January Federal Environment Minister Barbara Hendricks invited the fifth annual intake in the international climate protection and resource conservation scholarship programme to attend a reception in Berlin. The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation has been awarding international scholarships for climate protection and resource conservation since 2010. The scholarships are financed through funding provided by the International Climate Initiative of the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety.

Each year, the programme supports up to twenty scholarship recipients. During their 12-month stay in Germany, programme participants carry out a project on climate projection or resource conservation at a German university or similar institution. The aim is to exchange know-how as well as methodological and technical expertise. Several cooperation partners provide support for scholarship recipients, including the Centre for International Postgraduate Studies of Environmental Management at the TU Dresden, the German Academic Exchange Service, the German Federal Environmental Foundation, the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH and the Renewables Academy in Berlin.

By giving participants an opportunity to cooperate over the long term on combating climate change - the consequences of which will be felt most acutely in their countries of origin - the scholarship programme is helping create an international network of German and international experts. The 20 scholarship recipients visiting Germany last year were from Argentina, Colombia, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ecuador, Egypt, Fiji, Ghana, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Madagascar, Mexico, Nigeria, the People's Republic of China, Peru and Viet Nam.

The scholarship recipients in the sixth annual intake are expected to start their year in Germany in March 2016.